Tags

, , , , ,

I am about to share with you what is easily one of our favorite recipes.

I found it over the summer (and cannot, for my life, find it again… so if you know where it’s from please let me know so I can appropriately give credit). I’ve tweaked the original recipe a bit, so here is our own version for you.

Sausage Stuffed Squash

This serves two with just a bit of filling leftover (which is great on its own as a snack or seriously Paleo meal).

Ingredients:

2 Carnival or Sweet Dumpling Squash (you can use whatever type of squash you want, really. These two types of squash are sweeter and work really well against the saltiness of the sausage, so we prefer them for this recipe).
1 Apple, diced (we leave the peel on)
1 Whole Yellow Onion, chopped
1 lb Ground Sausage (we use mild or sweet italian, usually)
3 Eggs
Oil of your choosing (we use EVOO or coconut oil)
Cinnamon/Nutmeg/Salt/Pepper, to taste

Preheat the oven to 375. Cut the top (the flat part) off of the squash and scoop out all of the seeds. Bake the squash for about 45 minutes.

While the squash is baking, sauté your chopped apple and yellow onion in a bit of oil until just soft, or onions are transparent. Add the sausage and cook completely.

Once the squash has finished cooking, scoop out some of the insides (not all – leave a bit along the walls of the squash for structure), and add to the sausage mixture. Season with salt, pepper, cinnamon and/or nutmeg to taste. Add the 3 eggs and mix well.

Stuff the squash with the sausage mixture, and return to the oven at 425 for 20-25 minutes. Enjoy!

The filling is actually so delicious that we used it as stuffing on Thanksgiving. Instead of putting the mixture back into the squash, we just put it in the oven in its own dish, and then eat it by itself with some gravy. Yum!

I suppose that you could add many different types of vegetables to this stuffing if you needed a bit more – some chopped fennel would be delicious (but I’m also obsessed with fennel… so I may be biased), you could even add chopped celery for more of a real stuffing “feel.” Let me know your thoughts!

Also, can I just share with you how darn cute my dogs are? They love to snuggle in their Christmas sweaters.

SnuggleDogsJB

Cheers!

Jen

