Tags

, , , , ,

Think making crepes is too complicated? Think again! If I can do this, I promise you can, too. Here’s the link to the recipe online, but here I’ve got a few tweaks, and I’m going to explain how to cook them a little differently.

Breakfast Noms!

Breakfast Noms!

Ingredients:
1 cup rice flour
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon vanilla extract (or really any extract of your choice for added flavor)
2 eggs
1 cup milk (I’ve used both almond milk and buttermilk) ((on separate occasions, together would be gross))
1 tablespoon melted butter

You need a really good nonstick pan for this, and one without a plastic handle because you’re going to be popping the pan in the oven (and an oven mitt handy, I’m always burning myself).

Preheat your oven on the “Broil” setting with the rack all the way at the top, and get your pan nice and hot (medium-high). Mix up all your ingredients in a bowl until smooth, and very runny. Using the 1/4th cup measuring cup (is there a better way to say that?), pour a quarter cup of batter into the pan and quickly swirl around to get even coverage. These guys cook fast, so as soon as you see that the batter isn’t, well, batter anymore, take the whole pan and pop it into the oven for another 30 seconds or so of cooking (this is where the oven mitt comes in handy, the handle is hot now, remember that, like I always do). Broiling allows you to cook the top side without flipping your crepe and having it tear apart on you. When it’s done you can just slide it right out onto a plate! (Or parchment paper if you won’t be eating all of them right away.) To store, you can stack all the leftovers, unfilled, with a piece of parchment paper between each one, place in a ziplocked bag, and keep in the refrigerator for a few days. You can also freeze them. I freeze practically everything because I hate the idea of spoiled food, throwing it away literally hurts me.

Anyways, you can fill these with whatever you want, which is the fun part! We try to be healthy with fillings like strawberries and yogurt…but I usually end up covering mine with chocolate sauce…oops.

Oh! And if you leave out the vanilla extract, these also work really well as savory crepes for dinner.

