Tags

, , , ,

I really love sweet potatoes. They have tons of vitamins and fiber, and are so sweet and delicious that I find myself asking “Is this really good for me? It can’t be.” But it is!

I am also a french fry junkie. Ask pretty much anybody – the first question I ask when we talk about going out for dinner is always “Do they have french fries?” And if there are drinks involved, there better be french fries.

Actually, it became kind of a tradition for my good friend and I to draw little pictures with our french fries and ketchup when we used to go out for drinks back home.

FrenchFryPhotoJB

I know it’s a lot of ketchup. Don’t judge.

Moving on. French fries are indeed delicious, but they also are pretty void of any solid nutrition. So, at home, I try to go with sweet potato fries instead. They still crisp up nicely (without being fried!), go great with ketchup, and are way better for you than regular french fries.

Baked Sweet Potato Fries

This recipe can serve about 4 (depending on how much you love fries). The amounts listed in this recipe usually fill up an entire baking sheet and gives us enough leftovers for a snack the next day.

Ingredients

2 yams or sweet potatoes (I believe there is a difference, though I’ve never been able to figure it out. They all taste the same to me)
Oil of your choice (we use Coconut or EVOO)
Salt/Pepper
Paprika/Cinnamon/Other Spices

Preheat the oven to 400. Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil.

Peel the potatoes and cut them into fairly thin but wide (maybe 1/4 by 1/2 inch) sticks. Throw them into a bowl with your spices and your oil. Mix well with your hands.

Place the coated fries onto the baking sheet in a single layer, so that none are overlapping. Bake for about 30 minutes, flipping the fries about 15 minutes in. Check them often so that they don’t burn – but they’re done when they’ve got a nice brown crisp look to them.

I got this recipe and the idea to use paprika from Nom Nom Paleo. It was actually really good – the smokey paprika works really well with the sweetness of the potatoes. For a sweeter treat, use cinnamon and eat the fries plain, or dip them in whipped cream or cool whip (not the healthiest, I know, but still delicious).

If you want to take a little bit of extra time, you can just season the fries with salt and pepper, and then while they are cooking, create a butter mixture with cinnamon, nutmeg and allspice. Melt it and pour over the crispy fries before serving. Delicious.

You can also be boring and just season them with salt and pepper. Kidding! We always, always use salt and pepper.

You can also use this recipe to make your own white potato fries at home. I would recommend using garlic salt for more flavor, EVOO instead of coconut oil, and not using the cinnamon or paprika. But, hey – experiment however you want!

If you really want to get fancy, you can use baby white or red potatoes. Cut each potato in half (leave the skin on), slice up some onions, mince some garlic and throw everything together with some EVOO and salt/pepper. Place all of that onto a baking sheet for a more flavorful version of “french fries.”

Can you tell that I love french fries? We don’t eat white potatoes often, but we have sweet potatoes a LOT. Hope you enjoy these “french fry” recipe variations as much as we do.

 

Cheers!

Jen

