Tags

, , ,

Yes, buckwheat is actually a gluten-free product despite its name. And supposedly is really good for you, but I care more about the fact that it can make pancakes that are the same consistency as, well, pancakes! So here’s a very simple recipe I found that someone else reprinted from the back of a Hodgson Mill buckwheat flour box (link here). I don’t know how much they charge, but I get my buckwheat flour from Kam Man Market, for $3.49 (see Stocking Your Kitchen for more info).

(left) with a homemade banana syrup (right) cooked in bacon grease :)

(left) with a homemade banana syrup (right) cooked in bacon grease 🙂

 
This doesn’t make too many pancakes, so if you’re feeding a hungry hoard of men (I mean, who doesn’t do that every weekend?), you might want to double this recipe.

Ingredients:
1 cup buckwheat flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
2 tablespoon sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 egg
1 cup milk (I only have almond milk at home, but occassionally I splurge and get buttermilk, it’s fairly gentle on my stomach, and that would really be ideal for this recipe)
2 tablespoons melted butter or margarine

So, I never do things in separate bowls unless I absolutely have to. First, I mix up my dry ingredients, and then I make a little indention at the bottom to crack in my egg and add the milk and butter. Then, with a whisk I scramble the wet ingredients and slowly pull in the dry ingredients from the outer edge of the bowl. Works for me, or you can use multiple bowls. And clean them all later.

Heat up your skillet with a little bit of oil, unless you have a good non-stick, in which case no need (for the oil, I mean, you still need the heat).
Using a ladel (or one of the measuring cups you used above…I really hate doing extra dishes), scoop some batter into your skillet, you can probably fit 2 or 3 pancakes depending on the size of your pan. They’re ready for flipping when you see a bunch of little bubbles pop all over on the top of your pancake. Nifty, right?

Don’t worry if you’re first couple of pancakes come out a little funny looking, or not perfectly browned in that impossible restaurant way. The first 2 or 3 are obviously for the chef to eat while cooking, anyways, how else are you going to make it through all that ladeling and flipping without starving to death? Obviously.

